The best oatmeal raisin cookies (so far)

This pregnancy has caused me to have quite the sweet tooth! I’m usually a savory, salty kind of girl, but man-oh-man I cannot get enough sweets these days.

To satiate my sweet tooth I have taken up baking cookies. A few weeks ago I made some peanut butter ones and I ate 18 in about 3 days. Seriously. They weren’t even that good! This week I really wanted some oatmeal raisin cookies – my favourite kind of cookie.

I used a recipe I found on All Recipes – it’s got more than 4 stars after over 2,000 reviews, so I figured the masses can’t be that wrong!  I made a few minor changes – The recipe is called “Beth’s Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies” I didn’t actually want spicy cookies, so I left out the cloves.  I soaked the raisins in some warm water for about 10 min,  I also wanted a chewy cookie that didn’t spread too much so I chilled the dough as recommended by a few reviewers. Here is my version of Beth’s recipe:

(Not So Spicy) Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Yield: 3 dozen

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Put raisins in a bowl and cover with warm water. Let sit at least 10 min and then drain. (This plumps up the raisins and stops them from drying out in the oven).
  3. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, and vanilla until smooth. Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt; stir into the sugar mixture. Stir in the oats and raisins. Cover and chill at least 30 min (an hour is better)
  4. Drop by rounded tablespoon-fulls onto ungreased cookie sheets. (I used a baking sheet covered in parchment – easy clean up!)
  5. Bake 10 to 12 minutes until light and golden. Do not overbake. Let them cool for 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely. Store in airtight container. Make sure you get some, because they don’t last long! (NOTE – these will not look done after 12 min but I promise you they are! As long as they are a little golden around the edges, take them out of the oven and let them cool for a couple min on the baking sheet. If you move them to the rack right away they will just fall right through the slots. Having them slightly underdone helps keep them moist and chewy!)

The original recipe only called for 1 tsp of cinnamon, but I found that mine weren’t quite as cinnamon-y as I would like, so definitely put at least 1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon, if not more.  I also added a touch of vanilla to the soaking liquid for the raisins.  Not sure if it did much.

I have been slowly munching through these – well as slowly as I can can.

Enjoy!
Michelle

P.S. Yes I am eating one as I type this..


2 thoughts on “The best oatmeal raisin cookies (so far)

  1. OMG, I made these cookies and had to make them twice because everyone wanted more!! They are the best I and my mom have ever had and I will be saving this recipe forever!! thanks so much!!

    1. Hi Nicole, I’m happy you love the cookies! They are my absolute fav. In fact, I try to only make them once in a while because I can polish off a batch all by myself… 🙂

Leave a Reply

