Making Dinner: Fancy Pizza

For Friday’s dinner and as part of my 4 Simple Goals I made two types of “fancy” pizza. Now I can’t take credit for these recipes. My best friend’s older brother made these pizza’s for us last weekend and I just couldn’t get them out of my head (I dreamed about them, people!) Now I have to warn you – I didn’t really pay attention to amounts. If I remember how much of something I used, I’ll note it below. Everything else is at your own discretion!

BBQ Chicken Pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Yield: 1 pizza

Ingredients

  • 1 pizza shell
  • olive oil
  • good BBQ sauce (I used Bullseye)
  • 1 med-large onion, thin sliced into half moons
  • butter
  • splash of balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • pinch of brown sugar (optional)
  • 1/2 a red pepper, diced
  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/3 of a brick of mozzarella, grated

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (or whatever the pizza shell packaging recommends).
  2. Heat a saute pan with olive oil. Once hot add chicken breast pieces and cook until done (mine took 6-8min)
  3. Heat another saute pan with olive oil and a little butter. Once butter has melted add sliced onions and cook until golden brown (10 ish min). Add a splash of balsamic vinegar and a small pinch of brown sugar. This is optional, but I highly recommend it. Gives the onions a little extra sweetness.
  4. Brush a little olive oil on the edge of your pizza shell so the crust will get nice and crispy.
  5. Dump a good amount of BBQ sauce in the middle of the pizza and spread it evenly, leaving a bit of the crust showing at the edge so you have something to hold on to.
  6. Add the ingredients to the pizza in this order: caramelized onions, diced red pepper, cooked chicken pieces, grated mozza cheese.
  7. Bake in the oven according to your pizza shell directions (mine took 10 min at 425 degrees). Turn on the broiler and broil the top of your pizza for a minute or two (WATCH YOUR PIZZA CLOSELY! THIS IS PRIME BURNING OPPORTUNITY!)
  8. Once crust is crispy and cheese is brown and bubbly, remove from oven and allow to sit for a few minutes before cutting.
  9. Slice and enjoy!

Pear & Brie Pizza

Pear & Brie Pizza

Yield: 1 pizza

Ingredients

  • 1 pizza shell
  • olive oil
  • 1 med-large onion, thin sliced into half moons
  • butter
  • splash of balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • pinch of brown sugar (optional)
  • 1 ripe pear, halved, cored and sliced
  • 1 triangle of brie, sliced (note – I kept the rind on because I’m really not that picky about it but feel free to remove it if you want to)
  • salt & pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (or whatever the pizza shell packaging recommends).
  2. Heat a saute pan with olive oil and a little butter. Once butter has melted add sliced onions and cook until golden brown (10 ish min). Add a splash of balsamic vinegar and a small pinch of brown sugar. This is optional, but I highly recommend it. Gives the onions a little extra sweetness. (NOTE – IF YOU ARE MAKING BOTH PIZZA’S JUST DO THIS STEP ONCE WITH EXTRA ONIONS)
  3. Brush a little olive oil all over the pizza shell. A little goes a long way.
  4. Add the ingredients to the pizza shell in this order: slices of brie, slices of pear, caramelized onions. Add a bit of salt and pepper to the top and pop it in the oven.
  5. Bake in the oven according to your pizza shell directions (mine took 10 min at 425 degrees). Turn on the broiler and broil the top of your pizza for a minute or two (WATCH YOUR PIZZA CLOSELY! THIS IS PRIME BURNING OPPORTUNITY!)

I used a pizza stone to bake these which made the crust really crunchy. If you don’t have one not to worry, just put your pizza directly on the oven rack. I recommend placing a sheet pan on the lower rack, just in case some of your ingredients decide to jump ship.

I made both pizza’s at the same time and cooked one at a time (only enough room for one on the stone!). We munched on the BBQ Chicken Pizza while we were waiting for the Pear & Brie one to finish.  I have to say I preferred the Pear & Brie one to the BBQ Chicken. But, as the husband pointed out, it tasted like it was missing something. I think the next time we try it I’ll add some herbs like rosemary or sage to it. Maybe thyme? Any recommendations? Oooh, maybe a little arugula salad dressed with lemon on top? Hmm..

So, night one of my Meal Planning is done and it was a pretty big success. I also did my 10 minute tidy and didn’t turn on the TV once. A good day as far as my 4 Simple Goals go!

3 thoughts on “Making Dinner: Fancy Pizza

    1. Oh it is amazing! I highly recommend you try it – let me know if you do! I drizzled a little bit of balsamic reduction on top of my leftovers and it took the slice to another level!

Leave a Reply

