Amy Butler Birdie Sling Diaper Bag

This is the bag I made for my sister a few years ago. It was actually the first thing I had sewn since middle school. It took 12 straight hours, but I was quite pleased with myself!

This evening I am tackling one of my “to do’s” before the little dude arrives – making myself a diaper bag. I have made two of Amy Butler’s Birdie Slings already as gifts, one for my sister and one for my best friend. They both turned out great (at least I think so!) This bag is big, but so satisfying to sew. I’m attempting a few modifications to the pattern to make it more “diaper bag” condusive. THe changes include:

  • adding a magnetic snap closure
  • adding a swivel hook so my keys don’t get lost in the bottom of the bag
  • modifying the pockets to accommodate bottles, diapers, wipes etc.
  • attempting a zippered pocket in the lining (this is probably the hardest because I have NO IDEA how to do it..)

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Amy Butler Birdie Sling Diaper Bag

  1. That looks like fun!! And that bag above is soo pretty 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you make! I’ve made big bags before (a large messenger bag made out of canvas, super hard to sew) and it took a looon time but it was worth it in the end!
    Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

