The long weekend, to do list + 4 simple goals update

The Long Weekend

It was a productive weekend ’round these parts. The weather was pretty yucky (hello fall!) so we stayed indoors and cleaned and cleaned and cleaned.  There are two rooms left to be finished – my office and the little dudes room. Plus the vacuuming upstairs and then we will have a spotless house.

If only I looked this good while dusting!

+

I even cleaned out the pantry and the refrigerator and did a bit of reorganizing. It feels so good having all of that done. It means I can spend time on my projects for the little dudes room!

The To Do List

My “to do” list seems to be ever-expanding but here is a rundown:

To sew/make

  • diaper bag for me (half way there, hoping to finish in the next couple of days)
  • crib sheets
  • change pad cover
  • cover for bassinet “mattress”
  • wall art
  • mobile/lanterns (I can’t decide if I want to join the hanging lantern craze or if it’s been done too much for me to love it)
  • a few toys/stuffed animals

Has this trend been done to death or is it still cute?

+

To buy

  • closet organizer
  • diaper pails for soiled cloth diapers

There are more things floating around in my head but I can’t seem to catch them at the moment (this baby brain thing is NUTS).

4 Simple Goals Update

In August I committed to participate in Elsie Flannigan’s (of A Beautiful Mess) 4 Simple Goals. The idea was to come up with 4 things that you felt you could easily accomplish by 2011 that would enrich your life. I came up with:

  1. Take over a good chunk of the cooking duties from the husband
  2. Go for more walks
  3. Turn off the TV
  4. 10 minute tidy

My update? Things have been going really, really well. If you come here often you’ll have noticed all my meal planning and dinner making posts. So far I have cooked all of our meals except for 2. Pretty darn good! I’m having fun too.

I proposed the “TV only 3 times a week” idea to the husband back in August and he one-upped me saying he’d like to only watch TV once a week.  So we PVR all of our favourite shows and then sit down on Thursday nights to catch up and meal plan all at the same time. It’s been working pretty well! The TV does go on in our bedroom right before bed, which I think is OK and isn’t cheating on the goal. The reason for the goal was to get us off our butts and doing some stuff around the house and with each other. All of which happens now. If the husband wants to watch sports highlights at the end of the day in bed before he falls asleep after everything has already been cleaned up in the house, who am I to complain?

The 10 minute tidy has been happening almost every day as well. And after our long weekend of cleaning the house looks really good! We may not even need to do 10 minutes each every day this week.

The only goal that hasn’t gotten any action is goal number three: go for more walks. Between cooking dinner every night, the 10 minute tidy and general busy-ness around the house and out of the house we just haven’t made time for walks. It’s too bad too as the weather is just starting to turn ’round these parts which means it won’t be warm for much longer. I’m not sure what I can do to get more motivated to walk. Any suggestions?

I still have a couple more weeks to go before I can start rewarding myself for the three goals I am doing. Hopefully by then I’ll be walking more!

Tonight we are touring the hospital where I’ll be delivering. It sort of makes it all more real. Yes even more real than my ever-expanding mid-section.

What did you do this weekend?

2 thoughts on “The long weekend, to do list + 4 simple goals update

  1. Hi Michelle! I just wanted to say that your blog is really lovely and am glad to have stumbled upon it. 🙂 I love the 4 Simple Goals and am going to come up with some to do with my little family of 3. We lead a busy, 2-income life with way too much TV and too much eating out. It’s time to simplify!! Thanks for being an inspiration and all best wishes for you and the little one on the way!

    1. Thanks Rachelle! I’m happy you stumbled on my blog too 🙂 I just popped over to check out your website and blog – my you take lovely photos! I’m going to have to get some tips from you because my food photos look like.. well, they look like crap. 🙂

      Good luck with your 4 simple goals!

Leave a Reply

