Cookbook Review: Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

One of the things I thought I would start doing is reviewing a few of the books (cookbooks, sewing books, book-books) that I have been loving – or hating – lately. I recently rediscovered the joy of the local library and I have been happily checking out all sorts of fun books! Nerdy fun fact – I was a library monitor when I was in elementary school which meant spending my lunch hour helping the librarian check in or out books, general tidying of the library etc. I don’t think you’d find many 8 year olds that would willingly give up their play time to be among dusty books, but I loved it!

The first book I wanted to tell you about is called Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois. I had heard some mutterings about the book all over blogland when it first came out a few years ago.  It went on my “to read” list and promptly got forgotten. Well last week, there it was sitting on the shelf of my library just begging to be taken home. And boy am I glad I listened!

Let me start off first by saying – I AM NOT A BAKER. I have had minimal success with baking bread and I usually try to stay far away from ANY recipe that involves yeast. But guess what, guys? I can make bread! And pizza dough! And naan! And so much more!

The book makes bread making so simple, the promise of “five minutes a day” is no lie. It’s a pretty simple process – the authors have created a Master Dough recipe that is built to stay in your fridge. So you get your hands dirty once and then you can bake yummy loaves of bread all week long from the dough sitting in your refrigerator. They provide all sorts of variations of the Master Dough recipe so you can make everything from focaccia to pita to white sandwich bread.

Just take a look at what came out of my oven:

I made a few different things from the book – the Master Dough Recipe which gave me the loaf above plus some yummy cinnamon rolls (they were gobbled up before I was able to snap a picture). And I just made the Olive Oil Dough from which the husband made fantastic pizza. Seriously, folks, I see no need to ever buy pre-made pizza crusts any longer. Sadly I had to return the book to the library this evening so I am placing this book on my MUST BUY list and will be heading to the book store to pick it up.

So to sum up – if you want yummy tasting baked goods including with little to no effort in 5 minutes (or less!) then you should really take a look at Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.

I really feel like I should be giving my reviews a star rating or something like that. So out of 5 stars, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day gets.. well a 5!

In googling the book I’ve found out that the authors have a website and several more books! I’ve just added them to my reader.  YUM more bread!

3 thoughts on “Cookbook Review: Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

  1. Wow that was fast, LOL! 🙂 Glad you’re back. I’ve seen this book on the bookstore shelves and was interested in the concept. Yours turned out fabulously! 🙂 Have you tried the no-knead artisan bread recipe floating out in cyberland? I think it was originally in the New York Times. If you try it before I do, let me know if it’s any good. 😉

    1. Haha I know. I got your comment on my other post and thought to myself, what the heck am I waiting for?? I’m off to google the recipe you mentioned. I’ll let you know how it turns out! Oh, and its probably worth mentioning that the Five Minute recipes are all no- knead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

