Skirts and dresses galore: the summer of (almost) no pants

With the warm weather teasing us around the lower mainland (can’t it just be warm already?!) I am seriously in need of a little pick me up, especially since I start back at work in less than a week!

I decided I would take part in the Summer of No Pants being hosted by the blog Hideous! Dreadful! Stinky! Except I’m going to call mine the Summer of (almost) No Pants. Because I love jeans.

I’ve been seriously lacking in the sewing department lately and I am in desperate need of some new work-type clothing. I’ve been collecting skirt tutorials for the last couple of weeks and I think it’s time to cut some fabric and stitch some up!

Here are a few wonderful skirt and dress tutorials that I am going to use to make my new summer wardrobe.

The World’s Easiest Skirt by What a Nerd Would Wear

The Socialite Skirt by Elle Apparel

Denim Skirt Refashion by Made by Lex (I can totally see doing this with other men’s shirts, not just denim!)

The most flattering Shirt Dress DIY by Prudent Baby

Pleated Dress by Jay n Sara

The Elastic Waist Flirt Skirt by Growing Home

See what I mean? So many dresses and skirts! So little time!

I have a few special pieces of fabric that I have been hoarding waiting for just the right project.

Three fabrics that I picked up at Jo-Ann Fabrics the last time I was in the states:

Plus a pretty Diane von Furstenberg print that I scored from Heather Ross’ studio sale last year.

I think the three Jo-Ann fabrics will be skirts and the DvF print will become a dress. Most likely the Prudent Baby dress. I’m going to try to make it to the thrift store tomorrow to pick up a pleated skirt for the dress I linked to above and a men’s shirt for the Made by Lex skirt tutorial. That will give me 4 skirts and 2 dresses. A respectable start! What are the chances that I can finish a good chunk of them by Sunday?

Got any summer crafting goals?

One thought on “Skirts and dresses galore: the summer of (almost) no pants

Leave a Reply

